Ayurveda & The Doshas

Ayurveda : ayur {life} + veda {knowledge}
Sister science of Yoga

Ayurveda is a sister science to Yoga that focuses on inner and outer wellbeing through harmonizing elements in the body.

The Doshas

According to this ancient science, each one of us exhibits a particular bio-energy that comes together through the five elements (earth, water, fire, air, and ether)
These are called 'doshas'..

Body-mind Archetypes

There are three types of doshas Vata (air+ether), Pitta (fire+water), Kapha (earth+water) these combinations of the elements coalesce into three body-mind archetypes and dominate our physiological activities and also skin type.

At Shankara, we're primarily concerned about your three Ayurvedic skin types.
Vata · Dry
Kapha · Oily
Pitta · Normal, Sensitive, or Combination Skin
Know your Ayurvedic Skin Type GO